Comparison
HackOffer vs Verve AI
A preparation suite that meters the call in whole sessions, against a copilot that meters nothing. Compare what a twenty-minute screen costs on each, where the hiding is documented to stop, and which of the two publishes a latency figure at all.
The short version
Verve AI is the broadest product in this category. Twenty models with a playground to compare them, thirty-eight transcription languages with the list published, a knowledge base, a cheatsheet, mock interviews, a question bank, speaker diarisation for phone screens and an enterprise plan priced per session. If what you want is a preparation suite that also sits on the call, it is the fuller answer and this page will not talk you out of it.
What it does not sell is minutes. The copilot is granted in sessions — five 60-minute ones a month on Standard, three 15-minute ones on the free plan — so a twenty-minute recruiter screen and a fifty-minute panel cost the same. Refunds run five business days from deactivation and cover only a verifiable technical fault or a subscription you never used, the unused part of a cycle is not refunded, and a year is described in their own terms as "a commitment for the full year".
HackOffer sells the live half hour and nothing around it. The panel is kept out of a screen share on every plan including the free thirty minutes, the audio goes from your machine to the transcriber without passing through our servers, and the paid plan counts nothing — no sessions, no credits, and a week you can buy for $49 and stop. If your next interview is short, or there are four of them, that is the difference you will feel first.
~1.3 s
From the end of the question to the first word (Verve AI: Not published)
30 min free
To get started (Verve AI: $16.99/mo)
9
Languages the interface is in (Verve AI: 5)
HackOffer vs Verve AI, row by row
| Feature | HackOffer | Verve AI |
|---|---|---|
| What is visible, and what leaves your machine | ||
| Hidden from a screen share | Desktop app only | |
| What the hiding costs | Included on every plan, the free one too | Included on the free plan |
| Says in writing where the hiding stops | The docs list full-screen sharing from a browser as "may not work" | |
| Where the call audio goes | Straight from your machine to the transcriber, never our servers | Not stated, and no subprocessor named |
| How long the transcript is kept | Transcript 30 days, delete it sooner yourself | No period published |
| During the call | ||
| From the question to the first word of the answer | ~1.3 s, end to end | No figure published |
| Nothing joins the meeting | ||
| Hears the interviewer without a headset trick | The system mixer, headphones or not | System audio on the desktop; the browser needs you to share tab audio |
| Price, and how you buy | ||
| Cheapest paid plan | $49/week, $89/month, $349/year | $16.99/month on annual, $44.99 monthly |
| Every price on a page you can read before signing up | ||
| Free tier | 30 minutes, no card | Three sessions of 15 minutes |
| Can be bought by the week | ||
| Minutes, sessions or credits | Unmetered on the paid plan | Sessions, not minutes: five 60-minute sessions a month |
| Cancelling | Two clicks in the app, runs to the end of the period | Self-serve |
| Refunds | No general guarantee; the EU and UK 14-day right, settled pro rata | 5 business days, technical fault or unused only; a year is a full-year commitment |
| What the answer is built from | ||
| Your resume and the job description | ||
| Answers about what is on your screen | ||
| Coding questions | ||
| The system design drawn as a diagram | Design mode on the paid plan: a brief, an architecture diagram and a data model | One topic inside their Software Engineering domain; no diagram in the docs |
| Models you can switch between | 2, switchable, on every plan | 20, switchable, with a playground to compare them |
| You set how long an answer is | Short, balanced or long | |
| Platforms and languages | ||
| How it runs | Desktop app | Desktop app, browser and mobile |
| Operating systems | macOS 13+ on Apple silicon and Intel, Windows 10+ | macOS on Apple silicon and Intel, Windows; no minimum version published |
| Meeting apps named on their site | Zoom, Meet, Teams, Webex, Slack, Discord | Zoom, Meet, Teams, Webex, Chime, FaceTime |
| Interface languages | 9 | 5 |
| Transcription languages | 10 | 38 |
Every cell about Verve AI is taken from their own public pages and checked in September 2026; where a figure comes from somewhere else, the cell says where. A question their pages do not answer is left out of the table rather than guessed at.
Verve AI is a trademark of its owner. This page is an independent comparison written by HackOffer; it is not endorsed by, affiliated with or reviewed by Verve AI.
A session is not a minute
Verve AI’s pricing page grants the Interview Copilot in sessions. The free plan is "15-min Interview Copilot Session x 3" — forty-five minutes, cut into three pieces, no card. Standard is "60-min Interview Copilot Session x 5" a month at $44.99, fifteen on the quarterly plan at $39.99 a month, sixty on the annual at $16.99 a month. Pro, at $84.99 monthly down to $34.99 annually, moves to unlimited 90-minute sessions and adds the reasoning models. Enterprise is bought per session, starting at $10 and tiering down to $5 above five hundred.
What that unit does is make short interviews expensive and long ones cheap. A twenty-minute screen and a fifty-minute panel draw down the same allowance, so a week with four short calls in it costs most of a Standard month. The ladder is also not as fixed as it looks from outside: their own /alternatives/lockedinai page describes Verve as "$59.5/month", a figure that appears nowhere on the pricing page you would check first.
HackOffer meters the paid plan not at all. Hacker is $49 a week, $89 a month or $349 a year — all three published, half price for the first week or month — with no sessions to count and nothing to top up. The free tier is thirty minutes given once, no card, in one piece and with no cap on a single call, because the question it exists to answer is whether reading an answer while somebody is talking to you works for you, and three quarters of an hour split into fifteen-minute pieces answers a different one.
Where the hiding stops, in their own documentation
Verve AI’s marketing says the overlay is "Completely invisible even when sharing your full screen" and "won’t appear on screen shares or recordings". Their documentation publishes a compatibility matrix that is narrower than that sentence. Invisibility is guaranteed for window sharing and tab sharing on any platform, and for entire-screen sharing on the Zoom and Teams desktop clients. The docs then list, verbatim, what "May not work": "Entire screen sharing from browser-based meetings (Chrome, Edge, Brave, Opera running Google Meet, Zoom, or Teams in browser)". They ask you to run a self-test before the interview, which is sound advice and also an admission of what the matrix says.
The same page adds that Stealth Mode "requires the Desktop App. Not available in Browser or Mobile versions." Their browser path is weaker in a second way: it needs microphone permission plus tab-audio screen sharing, and their docs are explicit that "Without audio sharing enabled, the copilot cannot hear the interviewer." So on the browser the tool is both visible and dependent on you sharing a tab, during the part of the call where sharing is the thing you were hoping to survive.
Ours behaves one way. The panel is an always-on-top window the operating system excludes from capture — macOS marks it as not shareable, Windows sets the capture-exclusion flag — and it is on by default on every plan, the free half hour included. We also write down where it ends, in the same words on the landing page and in the terms: it hides pixels, not the process. A phone camera pointed at your screen still sees the panel, and proctoring software that enumerates running processes still finds the app. Treat it as private rather than as undetectable. A limit stated once on the page you buy from is worth more than a matrix a reader has to go looking for.
The numbers that are not on the page
For a product whose whole promise is answering while someone is still talking, Verve AI publishes no latency figure. Not on the homepage, not on /ai-interview-copilot, not on /macos-desktop-app, not in the documentation. The closest thing to one is a "Response Speed" chart in their model-choice guide, which is an image with no numbers on it. That is the measurement the category is won and lost on, and there is nothing to compare against.
The path the audio takes is not stated either. Their macOS documentation is admirably clear on one point — "The ‘Screen Recording’ permission on macOS is actually used for system audio capture, not for recording your screen" — but where that audio goes afterwards is unanswered. The privacy policy names no subprocessor, only "trusted third-party service providers"; it publishes no retention period and says nothing about training use. Transcripts are stored and downloadable.
We publish ~1.3 s and say what it measures: the end of the spoken question to the first word appearing on the panel. It is a design budget the pipeline is built to, not a percentile from a dashboard, and saying which of those it is seems more useful than a rounder number. The reason it can be that short is the same reason we can answer the audio question in one line: your machine holds the transcription socket directly, using a short-lived grant our server mints for that session. The audio never reaches us. The transcript is kept thirty days and you can delete it sooner.
Why people move from Verve AI to HackOffer
Minutes rather than sessions. Verve AI’s Standard plan is five 60-minute sessions a month and its free tier is three 15-minute pieces. The Hacker plan here counts nothing, and the free half hour is one uninterrupted half hour with no cap on a single call.
One invisibility behaviour, with the limit written down. Their docs guarantee it for window and tab sharing, and for full-screen sharing only on the Zoom and Teams desktop clients. Ours is an operating-system exclusion on macOS and Windows, on every plan including the free one, and we say in the same words on the site and in the terms that it hides pixels rather than the process.
A latency figure that exists. Verve AI publishes none, on any page or in the documentation. Ours is ~1.3 s from the end of the spoken question to the first word on the panel, stated as a design budget rather than a dashboard percentile.
The audio never reaches us. Your machine holds the transcription socket using a short-lived grant, the transcript is kept thirty days and you can delete it sooner. Verve AI’s privacy policy names no subprocessor and publishes no retention period at all.
Verve AI’s documentation lists system design as one topic inside its Software Engineering domain. Here it is a mode of its own: the panel keeps a brief, an architecture diagram and a data model, redraws only the part the last question changed, and copies the diagram out as Mermaid.
What Verve AI does not do
- The Interview Copilot is granted in sessions rather than minutes: five 60-minute sessions a month on Standard, three 15-minute ones on the free plan. A twenty-minute call spends the same allowance as a full hour.
- Refunds must be asked for within five business days of deactivation and qualify only for "a verifiable technical issue on our end" or a subscription you did not use at all. Their terms add that they do not refund the unused portion of a cycle, and that a year is "a commitment for the full year".
- Their documentation lists entire-screen sharing from browser-based meetings under "May not work" and Stealth Mode as unavailable in the browser and mobile versions, while the marketing page says "Completely invisible even when sharing your full screen".
- Nothing is published about speed or about where the audio goes: no latency figure on any page or in the docs, no subprocessor named in the privacy policy, no retention period, and nothing about training use.
- 3.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot across sixteen reviews, carrying Trustpilot’s own note that the company has not invited customers recently. Three reviews posted on the same day in August 2026 describe work done for the company and a payment that had not arrived.
Choose HackOffer if
- Your interviews are short, or there are several in a week, and you would rather not spend a whole session on a twenty-minute screen.
- You want to buy one week for $49 rather than commit to a month, a quarter or a year.
- You will be sharing your entire screen from a browser, which their own documentation puts in the "may not work" column.
- You want to know where the call audio goes, and would prefer it never reached the vendor at all.
- You want your resume and the job description read whole into every answer — no chunking, no embeddings, no retrieval step deciding which paragraph mattered.
Choose Verve AI if
- The interview is in Korean, Thai, Turkish or Vietnamese — Verve AI publishes thirty-eight transcription languages with the full list, and we transcribe ten.
- You want to pick among twenty models and A/B them in a playground before the call.
- You are buying preparation as much as a live copilot — a knowledge base, a cheatsheet, mock interviews and a question bank — or an enterprise plan priced per session.
Three questions that settle it
How long is your next interview?
If it is an hour, Verve AI’s accounting costs you nothing and this is a close call. If it is twenty minutes — a recruiter screen, a take-home debrief, a short follow-up round — the unit you spend is still a whole session, and on the Standard plan you have four left for the month. The paid plan here counts nothing at all.
Will you be sharing your entire screen from a browser?
Their documentation puts entire-screen sharing from browser-based Google Meet, Zoom or Teams in the "May not work" column, and lists Stealth Mode as unavailable in the browser and mobile versions. Sharing a full screen out of Meet in a tab is one of the most common interview setups there is. Our panel is excluded by the operating system itself, on macOS and on Windows, on every plan.
Is the call in a language we do not transcribe?
Verve AI publishes thirty-eight transcription languages and the whole list with them. We publish ten. If the interview is held in Korean, Thai, Turkish or Vietnamese, that settles it before any other row on this page is worth reading — we cannot hear those languages, and they can.
Questions people ask
Moving over from Verve AI?
Start with 30 free minutes. No card, and no trial that turns into a subscription — you find out whether it works on a real call before anything is charged.